Resident Awards

Physician Awards  |  Resident Awards  |  Student Awards

AOF Outstanding Family Medicine Resident of the Year Award
Nominations are open for American Osteopathic Foundation’s Outstanding Resident of the Year (OROTY) Award, which recognizes residents who exemplify the highest standards of altruism, clinical promise, leadership, dedication, and a steadfast commitment to osteopathic patient-centered care.

The OROTY Award is presented annually in collaboration with various specialty societies and healthcare systems. It aims to acknowledge and honor professional excellence among residents who stand out from their peers and who are shaping the future of healthcare. Interested residents should contact their programs to request a nomination .

Sander A. Kushner, DO, FACOFP Memorial Osteopathic Family Medicine Resident Award
The Sander A. Kushner, DO, FACOFP Memorial Osteopathic Family Medicine Resident Award is a prestigious recognition offered by the ACOFP Foundation to osteopathic residents who are pursuing excellence in the field of family medicine. This award pays tribute to the enduring legacy of Dr. Sander A. Kushner, an esteemed figure in the osteopathic medical community, known for his unwavering dedication to osteopathic family medicine and his exceptional teaching contributions. Review the qualifications and requirements below.

Qualifications include:

  • Must be an ACOFP resident member currently enrolled in either AOA-accredited family medicine residencies or ACGME-accredited family medicine residencies with osteopathic recognition.
  • Must demonstrate their motivation to pursue careers in osteopathic family medicine.
  • Must attend the ACOFP Annual Convention & Scientific Seminars to receive their award formally.

Application Requirements include:

  • Completed online application.
  • Current curriculum vitae.
  • A 500-to-650-word personal statement on their career aspirations in the field of osteopathic family medicine and how their vision, goals, and commitment follow in the footsteps of Dr. Kushner, thereby contributing to his enduring legacy. This award application cycle for residents is closed. Applications will reopen late summer.

Namey/Burnett Preventative Medicine Writing Award

Sponsored by the ACOFP Foundation, with winners selected by the ACOFP Health & Wellness Committee, the Namey/Burnett Preventive Medicine Writing Award recognizes the best preventive medicine blog posts submitted by osteopathic family medicine students and residentsLearn more about the guidelines and criteria.