Greg D. Cohen, DO, FACOFP


Greg Cohen, DO, FACOFP practices at Lucas County Health Center Medical Clinics in Chariton, Iowa. His rural family practice includes outpatient care, in patient care, obstetrics, osteopathic manipulative medicine, emergency room, and nursing home services.

He is a 1991 graduate of the University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences Des Moines, Iowa. Dr. Cohen completed an Osteopathic Rotating Internship and Family  Medicine Residency at Long Beach Memorial Hospital in Long Beach, New York.  

Dr. Cohen has served the ACOFP on the Rural Family Practice Residency Task Force, the Delphi Long-Term Planning Committee, the Constitution and Bylaws Committee, the Federal Legislation Committee and has been Chair of the Preceptorship Committee.  He also recently represented the ACOFP at a National Preceptorship Shortage Task Force organized by the  Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.  He has served as a delegate to the ACOFP Congress of delegates as well as AOA House of Delegates for many years.   

Dr. Cohen has served as president of the Iowa Osteopathic Medical Association and as Chairman of the Iowa Maternal- Child Health Advisory Council.   

He is an Assistant Professor of Family Medicine for Des Moines University and  has been precepting 3rd and 4th year  Osteopathic Medical students  since 2001 in rural family Medicine.   In 2014 he was named the Iowa Rural Health Champion and in 2015 he was given the Living Doc Hollywood Award for National Rural Health Day.  He received his Fellow designation in 2006. 

Dr. Cohen's wife Suse is the 2017 president of the Auxiliary to the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians.  They have 7 children.