skip to content American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians

Mission & History

The American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) is a professional medical association that represents more than 20,000 practicing osteopathic family physicians, residents and students throughout the United States. Its headquarters are located in Arlington Heights, Illinois.


The ACOFP works to promote excellence in osteopathic family medicine through quality education, visionary leadership and responsible advocacy.


The ACOFP was founded on Feb. 11, 1950, in Los Angeles.  

Originally called the American College of General Practitioners in Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, the association was created by John V. Fiore, DO, FACOFP and Bruce S. Collins, DO. 

The first officially recorded meeting took place in Des Moines, Iowa, during summer 1958. Even during its early years, the association strove to recognize member excellence. 

As the importance of osteopathic medicine grew during the following decades, so did the ACOFP.  The association moved to Chicago during the mid-1960s. During the same time, the ACOFP formed the Preceptorship program, as well as educational conferences on state and national levels. 

The association officially changed its name to the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) in 1993. 

For a full look at ACOFP’s history, download “The Continuing History of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians” 

Leaders in ACOFP History

The ACOFP Archival & Historical Committee identifies and preserves records and artifacts unique to the history of the osteopathic family medicine. Since the 2004 Fall Convention, the Committee has conducted in-person interviews with ACOFP Immediate Past Presidents and other prominent leaders. These interviews reflect unique contributions made by the interviewee throughout their years of service to ACOFP.

Dr. Ethan Allen
Received the ACOFP Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

Dr. Frank Bonifacio
AOBFP Chair 2004-present

N. Robert Brethouwer, DO, FACOFP
ACOFP President 1992-1993

Dr. Mary Burnett 
ACOFP President in 1972-73, the first female president of ACOFP.

Dr. Robert George 
ACOFP President 1996-1997

Dr. Max Helman
ACOFP President in 1998-1999.

Dr. Wilbur T. Hill 
Received the ACOFP Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008.

Dr. Royce Keilers 
ACOFP President in 1989-90

Dr. Kieren Knapp
ACOFP President in 2002-2003

Dr. Robert G. Maul
ACOFP President in 1995-96

Dr. R. Greg Maul 
ACOFP President in 2004-05

Dr. Glenn Miller 
ACOFP President in 2005-06

Dr. Arnold Sokol 
AOBFP Director 2000-present

Dr. Marcelino Oliva 
AOA President in 1999-2000

Dr. Marcelino Oliva in Memory of Dr. Frank J. McDevitt 
AOA President in 1981-1982

Dr. Louis Radnothy
ACOFP President in 2001-2002

Dr. Steven F. Rubin 
ACOFP President in 2007-08

Dr. John Sevastos 
ACOFP President in 1975-76

Dr. T. R. Sharp 
ACOFP President in 1970-71

Dr. Harold Thomas 
ACOFP President 1990-1991

Dr. Thomas Told 
ACOFP President in 2006-07

Dr. Eugene Zachary 
ACOFP Congress of Delegates Speaker – 1981-2001.

Dr. Jan D. Zieren 
ACOFP President in 2010-2011

Past Presidents

Since its founding ACOFP has been served by 59 men and women who have held the office of President.
View a listing of ACOFP Past Presidents